Topographics

Using one quote and one location, the task was to create a photographic piece and repeat 10 times. Each photo below was taken in different locations around Coventry.


                                                                                                                                Location 1 – Ellen Terry

August Sander  'I hate nothing more than sugary photographs with tricks , poses and effects. So allow me to be honest? and tell the truth about our age and its people.'

August Sander
‘I hate nothing more than sugary photographs with tricks , poses and effects. So allow me to be honest? and tell the truth about our age and its people.’

2A Ellen Terry

August Sander ‘I hate nothing more than sugary photographs with tricks , poses and effects. So allow me to be honest? and tell the truth about our age and its people.’

I explored the Ellen Terry building in Coventry. It surprised me, I never would have thought that  I would find so many secret rooms. The quote by August Sander made me really think about trying to leave things as people had left them. The first photo was on a stair landing in the building. Everything was arranged this way when I arrived, it was as though someone had set it us especially for my camera. The second photo was at the very top of the building in a dome, i decided to photograph the run down man made industrial structure.

Location 2 – The Hub

Nan Goldin 'the complete disregard for the camera's presence indicates its complete saturation in their lives. The subject neither notices nor seems to care that someone has been invited into their private moment.'

Nan Goldin
‘The complete disregard for the camera’s presence indicates its complete saturation in their lives. The subject neither notices nor seems to care that someone has been invited into their private moment.’

The Hub was a busy location, almost overwhelming in come ways. I captured this boy who was completely absorbed in the activity downstairs, he wouldn’t have noticed me. He almost ties into the architecture around him – the lines join and the colours clash.

Location 3 – Fredrick Lanchester

Philippe Halsman 'The imprtal photographers will be straightforward photographers, those who do not rely on tricks or special techniques'

Philippe Halsman
‘The imprtal photographers will be straightforward photographers, those who do not rely on tricks or special techniques’

After considering the quote i decided that the best way to approach this would be to sit on the pavement and wait for life and human interaction to happen. I held my camera to my face and looks through the view finder. Although I was waiting for a while, 2 boys bounced into the frame and knowing of my presence began making interesting shapes. I knew this is what I had waited for.

                                                                                                       Location 4 – Engineering and Computing Building

Jan Groover 'You have to follow your nose... to have a mental attitude about what you feel good about and yearn for in a picture. being able to say "I like it" or "i don't like it". That's first.

Jan Groover
‘You have to follow your nose… to have a mental attitude about what you feel good about and yearn for in a picture. being able to say “I like it” or “I don’t like it”. That’s first.

I knew I wanted to include structure and architecture and well as life and movement in this shot. I took an initial shot looking down in the Engineering building. I didn’t like it, so i changed the angle and framed it more to my taste. I still didn’t quite like it. So I waited for a person to walk through the exact part of the frame that I had originally planned. I shot it. Now I like it.

Location 5 – Coventry University College

Paul Caponigro 'It's one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it's another thing to make a portrait of who they are.'

Paul Caponigro
‘It’s one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it’s another thing to make a portrait of who they are.’

Location 6 – Herbert Art gallery and Museum

6 Herbert

Edward Weston
I would say to any artist:’ Don’t be repressed in your work, dare to experiment consider any urge, if in a new direction all the better.’

I saw the geometry and architecture of the stairs. It’s boldness contrasted with the fluffy and warm colours of the clouds and the sunset.

Location 7 – Alma Building

Robert Capa 'If your pictures aren't good enough, you're not close enough.'

Robert Capa
‘If your pictures aren’t good enough, you’re not close enough.’

Location 8 – Swimming Baths and Sports Centre

8 swimming centre

Bill Brandt
‘I am not very interested in extraordinary angles. They can be effective on certain occasions, but i do not feel the necessity for them in my own work. Indeed I feel the simplest approach can often be most effective.’

Location 9 – Sports centre

Duane Michals 'Trust that little voice in your head that says 'Wouldn't it be interesting if...' And then do it.

Sports centre 2

Duane Michals
‘Trust that little voice in your head that says ‘Wouldn’t it be interesting if…’ And then do it.

Location 10 – Bus Station

Elliot eRWITT  'i wasn't imposing my presence on anyone, which is very important for a would-be journalist. i stayed back. Always let people be themselves.'

Elliot Erwitt
‘i wasn’t imposing my presence on anyone, which is very important for a would-be journalist. i stayed back. Always let people be themselves.’

