Summer task revisited (After review and feedback)

When my summer work was reviewed the main strength was my use of well constructed and composed images. I was told that sometimes you have to take photos and experiment with them by either over-exposing or under exposing to make a more natural image. So, I walked around in my day and took images on a compact camera at random. This was almost painful for me, I normally spend hours composing and taking an image to make it exactly how I envisioned it. I then edited them a lot using Photoshop. I didn’t worry about over exposing, I made them to look almost dream-like and from my perspective.

In my initial summer task, I did a set of composed and thought-out images of how my mood changes throughout the day. I liked these images because each of them says something unique and the composition and the use of lighting is really striking.

The first image in the initial set is to do with depression and not being able to see the light even when hope is there. That is the reason why I am facing away from the light towards the darkness.

The second image is about a journey that I am currently travelling, with periods of happiness and sadness represented by the light and the shadow.

The third image is about reaching out for help whilst falling down. It was supposed to look slightly surreal by not seeing the body as well as the weird position of the hands. The hands are echoed by the shower head. This surreal feel adds to the feeling I wanted it to produce in the reader.

The fourth image is about depression again. The noose is around my eyes as it is hard to see the options that are present to me. It’s hard to go towards life and death. The background helps to add power to the image by using leading lines especially to draw the eye towards the place where I sit. It is also at a third on the page which also helps to add focus onto me. The vertical arms and the angled legs all draw attention to the noose. The dark area at the top creates a feeling of dread.

The fifth image is about removal from the present. The closed eyes represent dreaming and escaping from the here and now.

When my summer work was reviewed the main strength was my use of well constructed and composed images. I was told that sometimes you have to take photos and experiment with them by either over-exposing or under exposing to make a more natural image. So, I walked around in my day and took images on a compact camera at random. This was almost painful for me, I normally spend hours composing and taking an image to make it exactly how I envisioned it. I then edited them a lot using Photoshop. I didn’t worry about over exposing, I made them look almost dream-like and from my perspective.

I liked these new images for the truth and spontaneity of them. However, I don’t like the fact that I wasn’t allowed to think them through as much as I would have liked. Although the first image (the stairs) are an accidental image, the composition is still strong and there seems to be movement within the image which is created by the pattern of the light and the grain. This is why it is my favourite. My least favourite is the third one (Brick Wall) as I do not feel that it works this over exposed.

Although I prefer the original set of photographs, I did learn to be more spontaneous and look for unusual angles such as presented in the stairs photograph.

DSCF2634 DSCF2638 DSCF2639 DSCF2640 DSCF2644DSCF2646

DSCF2647DSCF2650

DSCF2657

