Artefact informed by extra curricular activity – Hoohaah Run Photography

I photographed a 10k Run. The leaders of the Hoohaah organisation asked me to be the official photographer of their next 4 runs. I have photographed their 10k runs before as an assistant photographer as well as Bourn to Run which is a village fun run.

These three flyers were in the goodie bags at the end of their 19th April race featuring some of my work from previous runs. Each one contains some of my photographs, roughly half.

 

Shooting this event really helped my professional development by giving me a responsibility and a commissioned job to fulfil. I was given a list of essential photos to capture on the day. Although I did some preparation, a lot of it was down to the day, I had to accommodate for when the sun came out and when it went again, people who were shy having their photos taken as well as capturing a good photograph of each runner even when they were running in a group.

The organiser asked me for 10 things to photograph, for example, photographs of the sponsors’ products, shots of the start and finish and the warm up. I provided shots of all the requests she asked for.

 

People attending the run like to have a photograph of themselves, so it was important to get shots of each runner.

I was efficient with the editing of the photographs and had them up on my Shootproof website ready to sell the next day. This is a screenshot of my website:

Screenshot 1

The preparation I did was look at Mark Bartley’s work from previous years when he was official photographer for the race:

Marks

His images got me thinking about the location and this is why I chose a place with a background of trees and a strong path line. It also made it easier for me to see people coming.

I was paid for attending on the day and I also made some money by selling photographs of runners from my website.

Hoohaah also requested photographs for an article that the Bury Free Press wanted to write about the event and I sent them soon after as well as advertising shots for Iceni water and Get Fruity Bars. One of the photographs I sent was used by the local paper, which was on the home page on the on-line edition and inside their printed edition. The home page and local news page are shown below.

Bury 1 Bury 2 Bury 3

 

 

 

 

 

 

